• Image 01

  • Image 02

  • Image 03

  • Image 04

  • Image 05

Lynn News Education Awards 2014

We had a very successful evening at the 2nd Annual Lynn News Education Awards on Wednesday evening, 19th November, scooping the award for Secondary School of the Year and our Principal, Craig Morrison was named Headteacher of the Year!

We are also proud of Lorna Hutchison, Catering Manager at KLA, who was shortlisted for the Support Staff of the Year award and was named as runner-up.

These awards highlight the huge effort by staff and students on our journey to good and beyond and we thank all parents and students who nominated us.  The comments made clearly swayed former Headteacher Michael Foot, who judged the category, to honour us – the competition was stiff; Terrington St Clement and Downham Market Academy were runners up.

Our Principal, Craig Morrison, was rewarded for all of his determination in leading the change at KLA with the award for Headteacher of the Year, beating Andy Johnson of Springwood High and Jon Goodchild of Smithdon.  All would have been worthy winners but again, thank you to all who nominated Mr Morrison for your kind words of support.  Evidently these again persuaded judge Michael Foot to select Mr Morrison for the honour.

KLA also sponsored the award for Most Inspirational Primary School Teacher.  This prize was won by Jill Fysh of Norman Primary School in Northwold.  We are proud to support the work of the Primary schools in this way.



Remembrance Day

King's Lynn Academy proudly commemorated Remembrance Day with the launch of our latest 'Big Project' centered around the impact of The Great War. During the day students participated in group discussion, collaborative tasks and individual projects designed to prepare them for their own extended study project.

Our canteen staff baked Remembrance Day biscuits, featuring a poppy and presented them to staff and students who used the canteen as their own mark of respect.

At the end of the day we held a whole school commemorative assembly, highlighting the importance of respect and remembrance. As part of the assembly, Mariegold Nicholls performed 'The Last Post' before conducting a 2 minute silence, which concluded with a performance of 'Reveille'. During the performance Mariegold was showered with poppies as a mark of respect to service men and women past and present.

Finally, several of our students who came to the Academy in their cadet and guide uniforms were photographed in front of our Commemorative Poppy display, made from individual messages from our students written on to a poppy; some of these messages were written to honour and thank a member of their own family who either served or is currently serving our nation.


11/11/2014 Ongoing issues with buses from West Winch

Thank you to the parents who were able to bring their children in this morning due to issues with the bus service. As you will be aware from my communication with you in September, we have serious concerns about the current provision. Despite some improvements and action taken by the council and the bus providers, we will press for more action to be taken to improve the service and avoid further difficulties as experienced this morning.

Thank you again for your support.

Craig Morrison